GRANT PROJECTS

PROPOLIS AND PUNICA GRANATUM PREPARATIONS FOR THE TREATMENT OF
RHEUMATOID ARTHRITIS (2020)

Prof. Nunziatina De Tommasi, Dipartimento di Farmacia, Università degli Studi di Salerno, Fisciano (SA), Italy
Prof. Alessandra Braca, Dipartimento di Farmacia, Università di Pisa, Pisa, Italy
Dr. Claudio Pisano, Biogem, Research Institute “G. Salvatore”, Ariano Irpino (AV), Italy

Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is a very common autoimmune disorder. Patients affected by RA show a chronic systemic inflammation that can determine both articular and bone injuries as well as a progressive functional disability, with an important impact on quality of life, social and economic aspects. The discovery of safe natural products for the RA treatment is needed also because drugs long-term use can cause severe side effects.

In this context, the aims of this project are:

  • to evaluate and characterize the effect of phyto-preparations, composed by a mixture of propolis and P. granatum fruits collected in Southern Italy regions, against a model of RA induced in mice by collagen injection.
  • to characterize the in vivo mechanism of action of the combination by analyzing the levels of different cytokines involved in Collagen Induced Arthritis;
  • to study the bioactivity of this mixture in 2D and 3D cellular models, to evaluate its efficiency as anti-inflammatory agent and identify its putative molecular targets;
  • to provide the quali-quantitative chemical characterization of the phyto-preparation used in the biological assays;
  • to provide scientific evidences supporting the conservation and sustainable use of traditional knowledge from the internal areas of Italian regions.
CLINICAL AND BIOLOGICAL EFFECTS OF CITRUS-PHYTOCHEMICALS IN SUBJECTIVE COGNITIVE DECLINE:
A PILOT RANDOMIZED CONTROLLED TRIAL. (2020)

Samantha Galluzzi, Lab Alzheimer’s Neuroimaging & Epidemiology, IRCCS San Giovanni di Dio Fatebenefratelli, Brescia, Italy
Roberta Zanardini, Molecular Markers Unit, IRCCS San Giovanni di Dio Fatebenefratelli, Brescia, Italy
Francesco Epifano, Department of Pharmacy, University “G. d’Annunzio” of Chieti-Pescara, Chieti, Italy

Alzheimer's disease (AD) is a neurodegenerative disorder which represents a major health issue and financial burden for health care systems around the world. In the absence of a cure for this condition, the public health priority has focused on enhancement of cognitive performance in older age and, possibly, prevention of cognitive decline.

Several nutraceuticals have displayed over the years the ability or a strong potential to prevent cognitive impairment. Among these, auraptene and naringenin are natural bioactive compounds derived from peels of Citrus fruits. They showed anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, and neuroprotective effects in preclinical studies, memory improvement in AD mouse models and preservation of cognitive function in healthy elderly, thus representing an appealing strategy for cognitive enhancement. A population of frail elderly with subjective cognitive decline (SCD), a condition at higher risk for incident AD, is an ideal target for early intervention trials.

This is a pilot randomized controlled trial to determine clinical and biological effects of Citrus- phytochemicals in 60 individuals with SCD. Participants will be randomized to receive Citrus- phytochemicals standardized in auraptene and naringenin or placebo for 9 months. Cognitive tests and blood-based biological markers will be done at baseline and at the end of treatment as outcome measures.

VIOLA TRICOLOR AS PHYTOMEDICINE FOR THE TREATMENT OF ULCERATIVE COLITIS (2019)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Christian Gruber, Center for Physiology and Pharmacology, Medical University of Vienna
PD Dr. Carsten Gründemann, Center for Complementary Medicine, Medical Center, University of Freiburg

Inflammatory bowel disease is a chronic recurring disease of the gastrointestinal tract and can be manifested as ulcerative colitis. In Germany, Austria and Switzerland about 400,000 patients suffer from ulcerative colitis. Hereby, Europe has the highest reported prevalence worldwide with 505 per 100,000 people being affected Symptoms include diarrhea, abdominal cramps, and rectal bleeding. Considering current guidelines, anti-inflammatory and immunosuppressive drugs or biologics are used for treatment. Due to common adverse effects and lack of efficacy of standard therapies, a widespread discovery effort has been launched to identify new drugs from natural sources.

Our scientific project aims to evaluate the use of herbal extracts of Viola tricolor as treatment of chronic inflammatory bowel diseases, especially ulcerative colitis. We have teamed up to perform cell-based signaling, mechanism-of-action and toxicity studies with tea infusions (Ph. Eur.) and experimental herbal violet extracts. Further, we aim to extract, isolate and chemically characterize novel immunomodulatory molecules from these preparations. Development of standardized extract preparation, based on the bioactive compounds of V. tricolor, will be employed. Furthermore, safety and efficacy of optimized herbal violet preparation will be assessed and documented following state-of-the-art Case Reporting guidelines, in a cohort of patients suffering from ulcerative colitis.

NATURAL PRODUCTS TARGETING MITOCHONDRIAL FUNCTION AND MITOGRAPHY:
IMPACT ON AGING AND AGE-RELATED NEURODEGENERATIVE DISORDERS (2019)

Professor Dr. Anne Eckert, Dr. Imane Lejri (PhD), Anastasia Agapouda (PhD candidate) and Selina Werner (PhD candidate), Neurobiology Lab for Brain Aging and Mental Health, Transfaculty Research Platform Molecular & Cognitive Neuroscience, University of Basel and Psychiatric University Clinics Basel

Aging is the major risk factor for neurodegenerative diseases. The underlying molecular mechanisms of brain aging involve mitochondrial dysfunction and increased oxidative stress. Several studies indicate that mitochondria are a convergence point in aging as well as in neurodegenerative mechanisms. They play a pivotal role in neuronal cell survival and death as they regulate both. Accordingly, current pharmacological concepts focus on increasing mitochondrial respiration and energy (ATP) production as well as on reducing the generation of free oxygen radicals. In addition, autophagy and mitophagy are important cellular processes responsible for breaking down cellular contents therefore preventing the accumulation of damaged biomolecules. Both autophagy and mitophagy are highly impaired during aging.

Wheat germ extract is currently used as adjuvant in cancer therapy. Its polyamines, especially spermidine, are reported to prolong the lifespan of mammals, to induce autophagy and to exhibit anti-oxidant properties.

In this study, we aim at assessing the effects of these natural compounds (wheat germ extract and polyamines) on mitochondria in human aging and Alzheimer in vitro models. For that purpose, we will use sophisticated human neuronal cell models, e.g. aged human neurons (generated from fibroblasts of old donors) and human AD neurons (generated from induced pluripotent stem cells).

NATURAL PRODUCTS TARGETING LOW RESPIRATORY INFECTIONS (2018)

Prof. Dr. Judith M. Rollinger, Department of Pharmacognosy, University of Vienna
Prof. Dr. Michaela Schmidtke, Section Experimental Virology, Institute of Medical Microbiology, Jena University Hospital

One hundred years after the devastating Spanish flu, even the implementation of powerful vaccination and the invention of antivirals and antibiotics have not been able to cope with the high morbidity and mortality associated with influenza epidemics and cyclical pandemics. According to the WHO, low respiratory tract (LRT) infections remain the most deadly communicable disease, causing 3.2 million deaths worldwide in 2015. Mainly caused by influenza viruses and picornaviruses, the mortality rate is heavily boosted by bacterial coinfection (lethal synergism).

In this project, we aim at investigating and developing natural product based antimicrobial agents. In previous studies we identified natural starting materials with broad spectrum antimicrobial activities, such as the extracts from Morus root bark and from the native mushroom Gloephyllum odoratum. Within this project we will explore the full antimicrobial potential of these natural products for the development of improved multi-functional therapeutics and for the discovery of desperately needed novel antimicrobial lead structures overcoming resistances. The envisaged investigations will thereby focus on (i) optimized and standardized extract preparations, (ii) their analytical characterization, and (iii) determination of their antiviral spectrum, as prerequisites of (iv) in vivo efficacy and toxicity studies for preclinical development.

THE EFFECT OF NATURAL COMPOUNDS ON PSORIASIS KERATINOCYTES IN VITRO AND IN VIVO (2018)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Schempp & Dr. Ute Wölfle, Research Center skinital, Department of Dermatology and Venerology, University Medical Center Freiburg

Psoriasis is a chronic inflammatory skin disease that frequently affects the joints and is associated with other comorbidities such as obesity and vascular disease. In Central Europe about 2–3 % of the population suffers from psoriasis, about two million in Germany, and 125 million worldwide.

Psoriasis has an enormous negative impact on the affected subjects. Therefore, during the last decade several new biological drugs were developed for the systemic treatment of moderate to severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis. These immunological therapies neutralize the effect of various proinflammatory cytokines, such as TNF-α, Interleukin-17 and Interleukin-23, to name a few.

In contrast, no innovative drugs for topical application or medical skin care products, i.e. botanical compounds, have been approved for psoriasis. Because there is a high of medical skin care in the concomitant treatment of mild forms of psoriasis and childhood psoriasis we have designed a scientific project that aims at exploring the effect of natural compounds on psoriasis keratinocytes in vitro and in vivo. Botanical compounds from Centella asiatica (Madecassoide and Asiaticoside), Mahonia aquifolium (Berberin) and Whrightia tinctoria (Triterpenes und Steroles) are of special interest because they have been used in ayurvedic and traditional Chinese medicine for thousands of years.

First, the molecular mechanisms and mode of action of the compounds and plant extracts will be investigated. Subsequently, the substances will be tested in a psoriasis skin equivalent model that will be established especially for this project. Effective substances are expected to reduce keratinocyte proliferation and epidermal thickness, inhibit inflammation and the stress induced response of the endoplasmatic reticulum (UPR).

Finally, a lipophilic ointment for the topical treatment of psoriasis will be developed. The most promising plant extract or compounds from the above specified testing will be incorporated in the vehicle and will be tested for skin tolerance and effectivity, using the standardized psoriasis plaque-test.

INVESTIGATIONS ON THE THERAPEUTIC EFFICACY OF ARNICA PREPARATIONS TO TREAT
CUTANEOUS LEISHMANIASIS (2018)

Prof. Dr. Thomas J. Schmidt, Institute of Pharmaceutical Biology and Phytochemistry, University of Münster
Prof. Dr. Sara M. Robledo, 2PECET-School of Medicine, University of Antioquia, Medellin

Leishmaniasis is one of the 20 communicable diseases currently classified by WHO as neglected tropical diseases (NTDs) affecting economically disadvantaged populations in the tropics. New efficacious, safe and affordable therapies are urgently needed. We have recently shown that Arnica tincture, an approved herbal medicinal preparation, can effectively cure cutaneous Leishmaniasis (CL) caused by Leishmania braziliensis in a golden hamster model. The tested Arnica tincture, applied topically, was even somewhat more efficacious than the standard antimonial therapeutic Glucantime. Based on these very promising results, the current investigation aims at in-depth investigations on the therapeutic efficacy of Arnica preparations for the treatment of this very severe disfiguring NTD. The main aims are to find out (i) whether Arnica is also active against CL caused by other Leishmania species, (ii) to investigate whether isolated Arnica constituents are equally efficacious as the total tincture, or whether the total extract of Arnica tincture is superior to its isolated chemical constituents and (iii) to gain first evidence on the therapeutic usefulness in human patients.

This herbal medicine could become a new efficacious cure, less toxic, more convenient to administer than standard antimonial therapy and affordable for the disadvantaged population usually affected by CL.

GRANT PROJEKTE

KLINISCHE UND BIOLOGISCHE EFFEKTE VON ZITRUS-PHYTOCHEMIKALIEN BEI SUBJEKTIVEM KOGNITIVEM ABBAU:
EINE RANDOMISIERTE KONTROLLIERTE PILOTSTUDIE (2020)

Samantha Galluzzi, Lab Alzheimer’s Neuroimaging & Epidemiology, IRCCS San Giovanni di Dio Fatebenefratelli, Brescia, Italien
Roberta Zanardini, Molecular Markers Unit, IRCCS San Giovanni di Dio Fatebenefratelli, Brescia, Italien
Francesco Epifano, Abteilung für Pharmazie, Universität Chieti-Pescara «Gabriele d’Annunzio», Chieti, Italien

Die Alzheimer-Krankheit (Alzheimer’s disease, AD) ist eine neurodegenerative Erkrankung, die für das Gesundheitswesen auf der ganzen Welt ein grosses medizinisches Problem und eine finanzielle Belastung darstellt. Da die Krankheit nicht geheilt werden kann, besteht die Priorität für die Volksgesundheit darin, die kognitiven Leistungen im Alter zu verbessern und, soweit möglich, einen kognitiven Abbau zu verhindern.

Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich bei verschiedenen Nutrazeutika gezeigt, dass sie die Fähigkeit oder ein grosses Potenzial besitzen, eine kognitive Verschlechterung zu verhindern. Dazu zählen Aurapten und Naringenin, zwei natürliche bioaktive Wirkstoffe, die aus den Schalen von Zitrusfrüchten gewonnen werden. Sie haben in vorklinischen Studien eine antiinflammatorische, antioxidative und neuroprotektive Wirkung, bei AD-Mausmodellen eine Verbesserung der Gedächtnisleistung sowie bei gesunden älteren Menschen eine Erhaltung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten gezeigt und stellen daher eine attraktive Strategie zur Verbesserung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten dar. Das bedeutet, dass eine Population aus schwächeren älteren Menschen mit subjektivem kognitivem Abbau (Subjective Cognitive Decline, SCD) – was mit einem höheren AD-Erkrankungsrisiko verbunden ist – das ideale Ziel für frühe Interventionsstudien darstellt.

In dieser randomisierten, kontrollierten Pilotstudie werden die klinischen und biologischen Effekte von Zitrus-Phytochemikalien bei 60 Personen mit SCD untersucht. Die Teilnehmer werden randomisiert und erhalten während 9 Monaten entweder Zitrus-Phytochemikalien, standardisiert in Form von Aurapten und Naringenin, oder aber Placebo. Vor Behandlungsbeginn und nach Behandlungsende werden zur Ergebnismessung Kognitionstests durchgeführt und biologische Marker im Blut ermittelt.

PRäPARATE AUS PROPOLIS UND PUNICA GRANATUM ZUR BEHANDLUNG VON RHEUMATOIDER ARTHRITIS (2020)

Prof. Nunziatina De Tommasi, Abteilung für Pharmazie, Università degli Studi di Salerno, Fisciano (SA), Italien
Prof. Alessandra Braca, Abteilung für Pharmazie, Universität Pisa, Pisa, Italien
Dr. Claudio Pisano, BioGeM, Forschungsinstitut «G. Salvatore», Ariano Irpino (AV), Italien

Rheumatoide Arthritis (RA) ist eine weit verbreitete Autoimmunkrankheit. Patienten mit RA weisen eine chronische, systemische Entzündung auf, die sowohl Glieder- und Knochenverletzungen als auch eine fortschreitende funktionale Behinderung bewirken kann und sich stark auf die Lebensqualität wie auch auf soziale und wirtschaftliche Aspekte auswirkt. Die Entdeckung sicherer, natürlicher Produkte zur RA- Behandlung ist auch deshalb notwendig, weil die langfristige Einnahme von Medikamenten schwerwiegende Nebenwirkungen haben kann.

Dieses Projekt verfolgt daher folgende Ziele:

  • Evaluation und Charakterisierung der Wirkung von Phytopräparaten, die eine Mischung aus Propolis und Granatapfelfrüchten enthalten, welche in Regionen Süditaliens geerntet werden, gegenüber einem Modell von RA, die durch Collageninjektion bei Mäusen induziert wird
  • Charakterisierung des in-vivo-Wirkmechanismus der Kombination, indem die Menge verschiedener Cytokine analysiert wird, die in die Collagen-induzierte Arthritis involviert sind
  • Untersuchung der Bioaktivität dieser Mischung in 2D- und 3D-Zellmodellen zur Evaluation ihrer Wirksamkeit als antiinflammatorischer Wirkstoff sowie zur Identifikation ihrer mutmasslichen Molekülziele
  • Qualitative und quantitative chemische Charakterisierung des Phytopräparats, das in den biologischen Assays eingesetzt wird
  • Lieferung wissenschaftlicher Nachweise, welche die Bewahrung und nachhaltige Nutzung von traditionellem Wissen aus den inneren Gebieten der italienischen Regionen unterstützen
ACKERSTIEFMÜTTERCHEN (VIOLA TRICOLOR) ZUR BEHANDLUNG VON COLITIS ULCEROSA (2019)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Christian Gruber, Center for Physiology and Pharmacology, Medical University of Vienna
PD Dr. Carsten Gründemann, Center for Complementary Medicine, Medical Center, University of Freiburg

Entzündliche Darmerkrankungen, wie Colitis ulcerosa und Morbus Crohn sind chronisch-verlaufende, d.h. langandauernde Erkrankungen, welche oft Durchfälle, Darmblutungen und Koliken verursachen und die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen sehr stark beeinträchtigen. Hierbei manifestiert sich Colitis ulcerosa ausschließlich in der Schleimhaut des Dickdarms, wobei bei Morbus Crohn meistens der untere Dünndarm und der Übergang zum Dickdarm betroffen ist. Diese Erkrankungen sind durch ein fehlgeleitetes und überschießendes Immunsystem charakterisiert. Die Standardmedikation wird mit Immunsuppressiva oder entzündungshemmendenden Medikamenten durchgeführt, welche leider nicht immer den gewünschten Therapieerfolg erzielen, oder starke Nebenwirkungen haben.

In diesem Forschungsprojekt werden wir die pharmakologischen Eigenschaften definierter Veilchenpräparate (Viola tricolor) hinsichtlich einer Therapie für chronische-verlaufende entzündliche Erkrankungen des Darms, vor allem bei der Colitis ulcerosa, untersuchen. Zuerst werden wir Veilchenextrakte hinsichtlich neuer immunmodulierender Moleküle charakterisieren und im besten Falle isolieren. Dann werden wir die standardisierten Präparate herstellen und pharmakologisch mit Zell-basierten Testverfahren auf ihre immundämpfenden Eigenschaften hin untersuchen. Schlussendlich wollen wir nach erfolgter Verträglichkeitsanalyse erste Behandlungsdaten mit Erkrankten erheben, um erste Daten über die Wirksamkeit der entwickelten Veilchenpräparate zu erhalten.

NATURSTOFFE MIT GEZIELTEN EFFEKTEN AUF DIE MITOCHONDRIENFUNKTION UND MITOPHAGIE:
BEDEUTUNG FÜR DEN ALTERUNGSPROZESS UND ALTERSBEDINGTE NEURODEGENERATIVE ERKRANKUNGEN (2019)

Professor Dr. Anne Eckert, Dr. Imane Lejri (PhD), Anastasia Agapouda (PhD candidate) and Selina Werner (PhD candidate), Neurobiology Lab for Brain Aging and Mental Health, Transfaculty Research Platform Molecular & Cognitive Neuroscience, University of Basel and Psychiatric University Clinics Basel

Altern ist der Hauptrisikofaktor für neurodegenerative Erkrankungen. Die zugrunde liegenden molekularen Mechanismen der Hirnalterung sind mitochondriale Dysfunktionen und erhöhter oxidativer Stress. Mehrere Studien weisen darauf hin, dass Mitochondrien einen Konvergenzpunkt sowohl bei Alterungsprozessen als auch bei neurodegenerativen Mechanismen darstellen. Mitochondrien, die Kernkraftwerke unserer Zellen, sind die Entscheidungsträger für das Überleben und den Tod neuronaler Zellen. Dementsprechend konzentrieren sich aktuelle pharmakologische Konzepte auf die Steigerung der Atmung und Energieproduktion der Mitochondrien (in Form von ATP) sowie auf die Verringerung der Produktion von freien Sauerstoffradikalen. Darüber hinaus sind Autophagie und Mitophagie wichtige zelluläre Prozesse, die für den Abbau von nicht benötigten oder defekten Zellinhalten verantwortlich sind und somit die Ansammlung geschädigter Biomoleküle verhindern. Sowohl  die  Autophagie  als   auch  die  Mitophagie   –  d.h. unsere zelluläre „Müllabfuhr“ – verschlechtern sich im Laufe der Hirnalterung.

Weizenkeimextrakt wird derzeit als Adjuvans in der Krebstherapie eingesetzt. Seine Polyamin-Inhaltsstoffe, insbesondere Spermidin, sind wahrscheinlich in der Lage, die Lebensdauer von Säugetieren zu verlängern, Autophagie zu fördern und besitzen antioxidative Eigenschaften.

In dieser Studie sollen die Auswirkungen dieser natürlichen Verbindungen (Weizenkeimextrakt und Polyamine) auf Mitochondrien in humanen In-vitro-Modellen für das Altern und für die Alzheimer Demenz untersucht werden. Zu diesem Zweck werden wir hochentwickelte humane neuronale Zellmodelle verwenden, z.B. alte humane Neuronen (generiert aus Fibroblasten alter Spender) und humane AD-Neuronen (generiert aus induzierten pluripotenten Stammzellen).

NATURSTOFFE GEGEN INFEKTIONEN DER UNTEREN ATEMWEGE (2018)

Prof. Dr. Judith M. Rollinger, Department für Pharmakognosie, Universität Wien
Prof. Dr. Michaela Schmidtke, Sektion Experimentelle Virologie, Institut für Medizinische Mikrobiologie, Universitätsklinikum Jena

Trotz der Entwicklung von wirksamen Grippeimpfstoffen und der Entdeckung zahlreicher Antibiotika haben wir hundert Jahre nach der verheerenden Spanischen Grippe immer noch mit hohen Erkrankungs- und Sterberaten durch Grippeepidemien und damit einhergehenden Komplikationen zu kämpfen. Infektionen der unteren Atemwege stellen laut WHO mit 3,2 Millionen Toten im Jahr 2015 weltweit die tödlichste übertragbare Krankheitsursache dar. Diese hohe Sterblichkeitsrate wird in erster Linie durch Infektionen mit Influenzaviren und Picornaviren ausgelöst, und durch bakterielle Koinfektionen verstärkt (letaler Synergismus).

In diesem Projekt stehen deshalb die Untersuchung und Entwicklung von Naturstoff-basierten Heilmitteln gegen bakterielle und virale Erkrankungen des Respirationstrakts im Fokus. In vorangegangenen Studien identifizierten wir verschiedenste Naturstoffextrakte und deren Inhaltsstoffe mit diversen antimikrobiellen in vitro Wirkungen, z.B. aus der Maulbeerbaumwurzelrinde und der Fencheltramete, einem heimischen Baumpilz. Ziel ist es nun, das volle antimikrobielle Potential dieser beiden Extrakte zu erforschen, um verbesserte, multi-funktionelle und Resistenz-überbrückende Therapeutika zu entwickeln. Deshalb werden wir im Rahmen dieses Projektes (i) Extrakte dieser Naturstoffmaterialien optimieren und standardisiert herstellen, (ii) sie analytisch charakterisieren, (iii) das antivirale Spektrum bestimmen, und schließlich (iv) im Rahmen einer präklinischen Entwicklung die in vivo Wirksamkeit und Toxizität ermitteln.

WIRKUNG VON NATURSTOFFEN AUF PSORIASIS-KERATINOZYTEN IN VITRO UND IN VIVO (2018)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Schempp & Dr. Ute Wölfle, Forschungszentrum skinital, Klinik für Dermatologie und Venerologie, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg

Die Psoriasis ist eine chronisch-entzündliche Hauterkrankung, bei der häufig auch eine Gelenkentzündung und andere Komorbiditäten wie Übergewicht und Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen vorkommen. In Mitteleuropa sind etwa 2–3 % der Bevölkerung davon betroffen. In Deutschland sind dies ca. 2 Millionen, weltweit 125 Millionen Menschen.

Die negativen Auswirkungen der Psoriasis auf die Betroffenen sind immens. Deshalb wurden in letzter Zeit neue systemische Therapien für mittelschwere bis schwere Psoriasis und Psoriasis Arthritis entwickelt, die auf der Hemmung pro-inflammatorischer Zytokine wie TNF-α, Interleukin-17 und Interleukin-23 beruhen.

Im Gegensatz hierzu gibt es jedoch keine neuen äußerlich anzuwendenden Arzneimittel oder medizinische Pflegeprodukte für Psoriasis, vor allem keine rationalen spezifischen pflanzlichen Produkte. Da vor allem bei leichter Psoriasis und bei Kindern eine begleitende Pflege der schuppenden und entzündeten Haut unerlässlich ist, haben wir das hier vorgestellte Forschungsprojekt initiiert, das die Wirkung von Naturstoffen auf Psoriasis-Keratinozyten in vitro und in vivo untersuchen soll. Von besonderem Interesse sind pflanzliche Wirkstoffe aus Centella asiatica (Madecassoide und Asiaticoside)Mahonia aquifolium (Berberin) und Whrightia tinctoria (Triterpene und Sterole), da sie in der Ayurvedischen und traditionellen chinesischen Medizin schon seit Jahrtausenden zur Behandlung von Hautkrankheiten verwendet werden.

Zunächst sollen die Wirkmechanismen der Naturstoffe an Psoriasis-Keratinozyten in vitro aufgeklärt werden. An einem im Rahmen dieses Antrags etablierten Psoriasis-Hautmodell sollen die beobachteten Wirkungen verifiziert werden. Wirksame Substanzen verringern die Dicke der Epidermis und die Proliferation der Keratinozyten, reduzieren die Entzündung und möglicherweise die Stressantwort des endoplasmatischen Retikulums (UPR).

Ein weiteres Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Entwicklung einer Creme für die Psoriasis. Hierbei wird der aus den oben genannten Studien am besten wirksame Pflanzenstoff in eine geeignete Grundlage eingearbeitet und in vivo im Rahmen eines standardisierten Psoriasis-Plaque Tests auf Hautverträglichkeit und Wirksamkeit getestet.

UNTERSUCHUNGEN ZUR THERAPEUTISCHEN WIRKSAMKEIT VON ARNICA-ZUBEREITUNGEN
ZUR BEHANDLUNG CUTANER LEISHMANIASIS (2018)

Prof. Dr. Thomas J. Schmidt, Institut für Pharmazeutische Biologie und Phytochemie, Universität Münster
Prof. Dr. Sara M. Robledo, 2PECET-School of Medicine, University of Antioquia, Medellin

Leishmaniasis ist eine der 20 übertragbaren Krankheiten, die die WHO derzeit als “neglected tropical diseases” (NTDs) klassifiziert und die ökonoisch benachteiligte Bevölkerungen tropischer Länder betreffen. Neue effiziente, sichere und erschwingliche Therapien werden hier dringend benötigt. Wir haben kürzlich gezeigt, dass Arnicatinktur, ein zugelassenes Phytopharmakon, cutane Leishmaniasis (CL), hervorgerufen durch Leishmania braziliensis im Goldhamstermodell effizient heilen kann. Die getestete Arnicatinktur war nach topischer Applikation sogar etwas besser wirksam als die Standardmedikation, die Antimonverbindung Glucantime. Vor dem Hintergrund dieses vielversprechenden Ergebnisses hat die durchgeführte Studie tiefergehende Untersuchungen zur therapeutischen Effizienz von Arnica-Zubereitungen bei der Behandlung dieser schweren, entstellenden NTD zum Gegenstand. Die Hauptziele sind, herauszufinden (i) ob Arnica auch aktiv gegen durch andere Leishmania-Arten hervorgerufene CL, (ii) ob isolierte Arnica Inhaltsstoffe genauso wirksam sind wie die gesamte Tinktur oder ob diese ihren Einzelbestandteilen überlegen ist und (iii) erste Belege für den therapeutischen Nutzen an menschlichen Patienten zu sammeln.

Dieses pflanzliche Arzneimittel könnte zu einem neuen effizienten, weniger toxischen und einfacher als die Standard-Antimontherapie anzuwendenden, vor allem auch erschwinglichen Heilmittel für die benachteiligten Menschen werden, die meist von CL betroffen sind.